Posted by: krnloop | February 4, 2008

Yuri, “my country”

yuri-my-country.jpg

Girls’ Generation Yuri is in quite a predicament at the moment because of a statement she said 4 months ago that Koreans deem as very wrong.

The incident happened in September 2007 when the group’s members were in Hanbok and filmed a video greeting for their fans on Chuseok. In the said video, Yuri said, “When I’m in Hanbok, I feel that I’m graceful. This Hanbok is my country’s tradition…”

After 4 months since it was made, a netizen, who is a member of the singer’s fan cafe, released it to the public and that was when Netizens got fiery.

For a non-Korean, her statement posed no problem but for Koreans, there was a big problem with it. Korea’s culture focus on the “we” and not on individualism. For example, non-Koreans express “My mom…” and “My family,” but for Koreans, those statements are said as “Our mom…” and “Our family…,” using the collective term “our.”

The comments on what Yuri said vary from “This girl group doesn’t think,” “She should study Korean again,” “Which country are you from?” However, there was one Netizen who did not make a big deal out of it and commented, “it was just a mistake.”

Source: Empas


Responses

  1. aww give yuri a break, netizens!!
    it was 4 months ago!!!! and everyone makes mistakes..

  2. Yuri is an stupid.

    • NO Your stupid Sarit its, Yuri is stupid, not Yuri is an stupid >:|

  3. it’s a stupid mistake…but pp don’t have to take it soo hard…
    Since when SNSD is intelligent to begin with????

  4. it was just a mistake….dont be so harsh on her!

  5. koreans speech sounds like ayn rand’s worst nightmare lol
    maybe koreans should read “the virtue of selfishness” xD

  6. “Yuri is an stupid”
    LOL i actually laughed out loud cause of that comment. xD

    Wow…netizens nitpick at the smallest things. I’m curious what they’re going to pick on next.

  7. ugh netizens need to cut her some slack and get a grip i mean geeze she is non-korean and is maybe not used to referring to things like that with ‘our’ people make mistakes. they always gotta nitpick at every little thing. I wish they(sry to bring this up) nitpicked at seungri’s ignorant comment a few months ago….

  8. i dont know much about snsd…what country is yuri from…and yeah give her some break

  9. She’s Korean. That question, I assume, was said in a sarcastic way.

  10. “yuri is an stupid”
    I find it funny that you’re here criticizing Yuri, when you can’t even get your own grammar correct. Anyway, GIVE YURI A BREAK! It’s not like she meant anything bad..just a mistake!

  11. […] Generation members Yoona, Sooyoung, Tiffany and Yuri guested in the MBC dramanet show “Three-Color Women Talk Show” and shared their […]

  12. okay.. who ever translated this article to English does NOT know Korean. Or did not understand the original Korean news article nor why Korean netizens were complaining she should study Korean agin.

    Because what Yuri said was sooooo grammatically WRONG! like not even kindgardners make that grammar mistake. It’s like BASIC Korean 101.

    “저희나라”? OMG… that sounds so OFF to any Koreans’ ears.

    Although there’s emphasis in “our” in Korean language, but that’s how Korean language is. I think this goes more against her BASIC Korean error than the whole selfless “our” thing.

  13. […] 14. When Nation Got Offended Yuri made a slip of tongue, saying “My country” instead of “Our country” when referring to Korea, causing a national outcry. (The news) […]

  14. […] “My country” instead of “Our country” when referring to Korea, causing a national outcry. (The news) CREDITS: [SHENYUEPOP] […]

  15. […] 14. When Nation Got Offended Yuri made a slip of tongue, saying “My country” instead of “Our country” when referring to Korea, causing a national outcry. (The news) […]

  16. […] 14. When Nation Got Offended Yuri made a slip of tongue, saying “My country” instead of “Our country” when referring to Korea, causing a national outcry. (The news) […]

  17. although i don’t have a good impression of snsd, this is kinda stupid to make a big fuss about

  18. I don’t think this is a trivial thing. This kind of selfishness is a very serious issue in Korean culture.

    Perhaps international fans do not understand the “fuss” made over this by netizens, but this slip of the tongue disrespects a very, very important concept in Korean culture. Although I respect the international fans’ opinions, I think they need a reminder that this is a Korean entertainment industry and, hence, this is where Korean rules and customs rule. In Korean culture, following the right way of doing things and being respectful for the community of “us” instead of “me’ is one of the biggest issue. [Well, besides the respect for the elders.] And the Korean culture is deeply embedded in the country’s history and such… not something you can overlook easily if you are a member of that nation.

    And, as they said, if you are in Rome, you have to follow Rome’s rules. [Paraphrased.] If Yuri is in Korea, she should do the best to follow the Korean culture. And this kind of disrespect for the Korean culture seems to be an unisolated incident.

    [Disclaimer: I’m not an expert in SNSD, or Korean Pop in general, but I’ve been fascinated with the issue around SNSD lately and have read the Shen Yuen Pop articles on SNSD. And I gotta say, that’s a lot of mistakes they made. The individual group members’ mistake weights on the group as a whole, and that particular weight isn’t very light.]

    • I agree with you. People are forgetting that this is another country and culture. I’m not saying there aren’t any similarities but sometimes the most minuscule detail can make a difference. I’m from an Asian culture myself, but I’ve grown up in the U.S. I’ve made mistakes such as saying things that TECHNICALLY I’m not supposed to say. Greetings are so important. Sometimes the way a younger person leaves a room when an elder is present is important. (that last one may sound crazy but I have a bad rep when it comes to manners. I’ve got legitimate reasons tho) But basically even if FANS, such as you guys don’t judge them, the people who may or may not be fans WILL be doing so. I have also been following up on some of the fuss over SNSD and I have to say there A LOT of hate for these girls and their fans. Just everything about the whole situation just sounds insane to me, but I think it ties in heavily with Korea’s bullying tactics as well.

  19. […] “My country” instead of “Our country” when referring to Korea, causing a national outcry. (The news) CREDITS: […]

  20. […] “My country” instead of “Our country” when referring to Korea, causing a national outcry. (The news) CREDITS: [SHENYUEPOP] […]

  21. wht’s the big deal about it? eventhough im NOT a snsd fans. bt tht was just stupid? no offense for korean people. bt tht was a silly mistake of words.

  22. us international fans think this is STUPID
    because it is stupid in HUMAN terms…

    i dont care if its korea or albania or anywhere

    causing a national outcry for this mistake…??
    if korea thinks like this…WHATS WRONG WITH YOU PEOPLE?

  23. This happened 4 months ago. Maybe she accidentally said it? HONESTLY, I, myself, happen to do that kind of mistake too. ^o^”

  24. Gosh.. that’s such a small stuff to fuss about..

  25. Honestly, fans or not, no one can doubt that SNSD is a group of bimbotic girls. -.-” And how would you feel if someone who isn’t from your country insults your beliefs by posting thoughtless comments like “I don’t care”?

    Seriously. -.-

  26. they’re airheads…what can u say?

  27. I dont really get Koreans after all…. At first I really and admire and like their culture, but of how they are after reading many articles… it makes me wonder…….

  28. I really dont think there is a need for a national outcry?… Its a mistake no doubt… but its not like she did it purposely…
    I dont see the need to be so sensitive about all these…

  29. good debate^__^;
    so she said 나의 조국?
    i want to see.. where i can watch itXD

  30. […] 14. When Nation Got Offended Yuri made a slip of tongue, saying “My country” instead of “Our country” when referring to Korea, causing a national outcry. (The news) […]

  31. I think people are overreacting, seriously, if you were a celebrity and you accidentally said, “My country” then ppl started to hate and said “DIE!” that would be unfair right? So get over it ppl.

  32. […] say “our mother”) is common but in Korea 우리 is often used instead.  (krnloop.wordpress.com) Previous postKpop Korean Lesson: Kara – Pretty […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

